Monday, October 5, 2015

Marie Ernst Kickstarter Campaign

Marie Ernst™ offers an innovative two-in-one approach to beauty bars without limiting the benefits of either element. Marie Ernst™ Pumice Bars are made of 15% organic pumice, which allows a gentle exfoliation. Marie Ernst™ Moisturizing Bars are made with ingredients like olive oil, cocoa butter, shea butter and essential oils to guarantee superior hydration. Combined, the two components work as a cohesive unit to give you the ultimate sensory experience in skin care and body treatment. Marie Ernst only has 3 days left in their campaign and still need to raise over $6,000.

Here is the link: 

Sunday, October 4, 2015

Cosmos Creations Pumpkin Spice Review

Cosmos Creations  who kindly sent this product for review, has a new flavor called Pumpkin Spice Premium Puffed Corn. Just in time for Fall! I love pumpkin spice so I was thrilled to try this out. This is literally bursting with flavor. Litterally. So, if you like pumpkin spice flavors, you will absolutely love this. Also, there are NO kernals. This is just very smooth puffed premium corn.
If you are not familiar, Cosmos Creations Premium Puffed Corn is gluten free, no trans-fat, and uses Non-GMO Corn, and as I stated earlier, it has no hulls or kernels. Cosmos Creations is local to the Pacific Northwest, and we like supporting a local business. They also have other flavors; Sea Salt and Butter, Sea Salt and Vinegar, Cinnamon Crunch, Caramel and Aged Cheddar, and Cracked Pepper.  The price is $4.99 for a 6.5 oz bag.

Friday, October 2, 2015

Fall Fashion Tips from Dale Noelle

As Fall is quickly approaching, I wanted to share Dale Noelle's Fall Fashion Tips. Dale Noelle, was one of the fashion industries most successful and sought after fitting models for nearly two decades before she founded TRUE Model Management. With her experience in fashion industry Dale Noelle is the perfect person to help with fall styling tips.
Here are some tips to staying stylish (and warm) during the transition:
1.  Recognize your body type- The female body varies in shape and size. If you have an hourglass shape, be sure to accentuate your tiny waist line. Belted jackets that cinch around the waist will bring your shape much positive attention. For the apple-shaped, or rounded, female, focus on the shoulders and leg area; this will minimize your midsection and create the S-curve illusion. Flowy fall tops or swing coats for chillier weather will be the most flattering. If you are noticeably heavier in the midsection and have a slim lower body (carrying all the weight toward the tummy area), aim for cropped jackets with banded bottoms that will again, create the illusion of a smaller waist. Pear shaped women with wider hips should accentuate their top halves and create balance. Structured jackets with details and fun patterns draw the attention to the top half of the body. A diversion of the attention to the lower half will create a more balanced body perspective. Remember, all bodies are different and it is up to you to decide what is more aesthetically pleasing. The key to styling for your body is creating the shape you desire and a balance so the body will be desirable to others.
2. Be mindful of the colors of the season- Earthy neutrals are in this season. Fashion forecasters have foreseen sage, rose, and ranges of bold colors reflecting landscape (full of blues, browns, greens, and grays) as the colors of the upcoming fall season. Choose the color(s) that pop(s) against your skin. Do not be afraid to mix and match the colors. Fall is colorful in itself. Stay festive.
3. Layer, layer, layer- The season is changing. Be bold! Do not be afraid to layer your clothes as you mix those colors. Always be mindful of styling for your shape; do not disguise your body under a plethora of items, but, rather, mix and match to create a nicely balanced full ensemble. Try a nice blouse with an outer jacket with an accessory piece such as a belt or a scarf. The great thing about this season is it is the perfect blend of warm and cool. The options are endless!
4. Wear your confidence- No matter what garment you wear, remember YOU are carrying it; do not let it carry you. The most important piece you carry with every outfit will be your confidence. You confidence stays with you through all four seasons and will be consistently striking if exercised daily.

Thursday, October 1, 2015

Monthly Express October 2015 Review

Monthly Express is a monthly subscription service. Savor your "ME" time. The boxes contain luxurious hand-selected items from around the world in full or deluxe sizes, picked for the highest quality and ingredients, and center around "self-nourishing". They recently offered a deal on, for 1 month for $75 or 3 months for $225, so I jumped at the changed to try it and grabbed the 3-month deal. This is my last box.
 I love they way they wrap the boxes each month.
The info card is printed on a nice quality paper, and gives information about the products. It does not give prices, which would be very helpful.
Empower Fragrance by Pour Le Monde - $82. This is made for both men and women. I am never thrilled to receive perfume in a box.
Boticario de Havana Body Lotion by Archipelago - $29.50. This benefit-rich Archipelago Body Lotion is  boasting ingredients straight from the islands such as coffee, jojoba and orange oils and botanical extracts of sugar cane & pineapple. This has a very strong fragrance and I am not able to use it. 
Rainforest at Dusk Nourishing Body Polish by Teadora - $34. Packed with Antioxidant and vitamin-rich Buriti, Babassu, Brazil Nut, Rose Hip Seed, and Maracujá oils, plus potent exfoliants such as Açaí Seeds and Amazonian Clay our ultra-smooth Nourishing Body Polish removes dead skin while providing amazing hydration for brighter, healthier, smoother skin. This has a very strong fragrance and I am not able to use it.

Unfortunately, there aren't any items I am able to use this month because everything has such a strong scent. The overall value this month is $145.50. This is slightly higher than in previous months, but I still think this is too low for the full price cost of this box. This month was our last month for this box. We will not be renewing or continuing the subscription because there are other luxury boxes out there with a better curation and value.

Monday, September 28, 2015

FabFitFun Fall 2015 Review

My FabFitFun box arrived today!! FabFitFun is $49.99 a quarter. It promises $175+ worth of full-size premium items. It has the seasons hottest beauty, fitness, fashion, and wellness items. It's one of our favorite boxes. For annual subscribers, there are now options where you can customize some of your items, which is great because then you are sure to get the colors you really want.
The FabFitFun box has been updated with a new design and is now a pretty purple. Also, the info card is now a much bigger booklet, which is a pretty cool touch. As usual, I post in the order I pull out of the box.
FabFitFun X Tappan Collective Umbrella - $32. This is a one-of-a-kind umbrella that was a collaboration between FabFitFun and LA based artist Ashkahn Shahparnia. The umbrella says rain rain go away. I like getting umbrellas in subs, but I only actually use them if they aren't too cute. This one is just fine. This was also one of the items that I got to pick my color. 
Passport to Beauty Gold Radiance Luxury Facial Mask with Collagen and Rose Oil - $65. I can't believe how expensive this is. It's a gold infused hydrating mask with collagen. You wear for 20 minutes. K and I are going to try them out next weekend when she comes home.
Tribe Alive Glass Crystal Bead Bracelet - $49. This was another item we got to pick our color. I did not receive the color I picked, which was Aquamarine, but the Mexican Blue one I got is very pretty. K loved it and had it on within seconds, so this one is for her.
Doctor D. Schwab Flawless Skin Fluid - $39. This is a lightweight tinted moisturizer that has grape stem cell extract and powerful peptides to balance and brighten skin. I am familiar with apple stem cell ingredients, but not familiar with grape stem cell extract. I wonder if it works just as well?
Manna Kadar Cosmetics Lucky Lip Stain $24 - This is a primer, lip gloss, and lip stain all in one, and with vitamin E to for moisturizing your lips. This is paraben free, allergy tested, and cruelty free. I haven't tried this yet, but it looks to be more of a summer color.
Purple Purse Charm by Allstate Foundation Purple Purse - In honor of Domestic Violence Awareness Month (October). Designed to symbolize how women can regain control of their purse strings. This can be attached to your purse to support a world without domestic violence and financial abuse.
Merrithew Strength Tubing Ankle & Total Body Tone with Tubing: Lower Body & Core DVD - $33. I love that the DVD and the tubing was included. We have received Merrithew workouts before. There are plenty of them so you can always find something new and different to stay motivated.
HISY Battery Pack - $24.99. This is a portable charger. I already own one so K already grabbed this as well. This one is much cuter than the one I have. The color I picked was mint. It was darker than I expected, but still lighter than the pic is showing. ;)
3D White Brilliance 2-Step System by Crest Foil Packs. This was a sponsored item, which explains the foil pack. Step 1 cleans your teeth and step 2 polishes and whitens. I would have preferred to try it in full size, not so sure I'll actually end up using this.
Jewelers Wife Gift Card- $15. Jeweler's Wife features many designers, but their stuff is kind of pricy. Shipping is free though.
Picture it On Canvas Gift Card - $75. Also pretty pricy stuff. Shipping is free here too. I hear there are items on there that you can use this gift card on, but apparently not anything I was drawn to.
The listed retail value is $357, which is $257 if I don't count the gift cards. The fall boxes always seem to be my favorite, and this one did not disappoint. Great box this month.


Friday, September 25, 2015

BarkBox - September 2015 Review

 We found a special on Groupon for BarkBox, and had to try it. K has gotten this before, but does not have a current subscription. We paid $79.99 for six months, which comes to just over $13/month. If you are not familiar, BarkBox is a monthly subscription service and they send a mix of toys, healthy treats, and gadgets. You get to pick your dog size. I picked Large, but not because Sailor is particularly large, but because he is a super-chewer and toys only last about 10 minutes with him.

I loved the logo stamped tissue paper, and the greeting card, which told me a little bit about BarkBox. For example, did you know that has meetups?  There weren't any in our area, but still think it's a fun idea.

The info card told us about the products and the prices. It was informative.
Sailor will only stay patient for so long before wanting to nudge everyone else out of the way and see what's in there!
Barkmade Frank the Frog Prince - $14. BarkBox has the absolute cutest toys. This one did not disappoint. I LOVED it. It's very sturdy, so it should hopefully last more than one visit. This also has a squeaky inside, so it's sure to be a hit.
Butchers Block Trachea Chew - $3. This looks like something he will have fun chewing. This is from real Angus beef. Odor-free and made in the USA. There is a warning sticker that says do not use on carpets. This is what he was after when we got into the box. He ran off with it and we had to go grab it from him to get the plastic off.
BeneBone Bacon Flavor - $12. This is a durable chew toy that tastes like Bacon. You are supposed to supervise to ensure your pup does not eat it.
Notie Pepperoni Flavor Jerky Chews - $10. 1 treat per 10 lbs per day. These are grain-free chicken treats.
Green Bark Gummies Health & Vitality - $8. Made with Chia. No artificial flavors, wheat, corn, or soy, added sugar, wheat gluten.
We loved this months BarkBox.  The overall value this month is $47, which is pretty good for the $13 I paid!