Sunday, April 12, 2015

PopSugar April 2015 Review

*This post contains affiliate links*
PopSugar Must Have is a monthly lifestyle box filled with on-trend and currently useful items. I do like how they time the items to match the seasons, such as the umbrella we received this month for Spring.
Coupons that were included:
Mott 50 - $25 gift card - This card is good though 5/30/15, I wish it were longer, and works toward women’s apparel and accessories only. (Excludes kids items). Cannot be used toward shipping.
VowtobeChic - $125 When you purchase or rent one dress, receive one free dress rental. $125 value, not redeemable for multiple dresses with a value of $125 or less. I won't be using this
Flip & Tumble 24-7 bag $12 - This is nice because it rolls up into a small little ball, which is very handy to carry in your purse. K has a ban on bags where she lives, so she needs to carry something around. 

One Love Organics Gardenia + Tea Antioxidant Body Serum - $39. I've been wondering when an antioxidant body serum would be showing up, so I'm not disappointed with this. I assumed the scent would be too strong for me, with the gardenia included, but it actually is not.  Ultra-light and easily absorbed, Gardenia + Tea Body Serum can be used alone or layered with your favorite sunscreen or lotion for an intensely hydrating treatment.
Potting Shed Creations Garden-in-a-bag Basil - $10. I do not garden, and do not have any use for this. But I do have a friend who has been building a garden the past couple weekends, taking advantage of our spring weather, and I intend to gift this next week.
Produce Candles Rhubarb Spring Candle - $20. I did not open this because I have plenty of candles for right now. Also, I think this will make a really nice gift, so I wanted to keep the protective packaging intact. K opened hers and described the scent as sweet.
Dabney Lee Dottie Umbrella - $20. I think this is really cute. I do not currently need any more umbrellas, but I think this is really really cute. This has an auto open/close feature and is made of quick-drying fabric.
 
Not counting the coupons, this months PopSugar Must Have box has a value of $101, which is well worth the $39.95 we spent. A box should have at least double the value of what you paid to make it worth it.
`A

Saturday, April 11, 2015

ModCloth Stylish Surprise April 2015 Review Part 2

Our ModCloth Stylish Surprise shipment of tops finally arrived. ModCloth does a sale a couple times a year, to clear out last seasons inventory. You don't know what you are going to get, which is the surprise part. This can be really hit/miss. We cannot include prices because the items are no longer in inventory. We paid $15 for each piece.
blu Pepper - I can't believe how stretchy and comfortable this is. This has 44% Nylon, 8% polyester, and 48% acrylic. If it's wasn't for the flowers, I would totally wear this.
Double Zero -  I love this one, it's super cute. The extra detail on the bottom just gives it character. This material also runs up the side a little, but it's subtle. 80% cotton 20% polyester. Hand wash in cold, do not bleach or dry clean.
Geode - I was surprised to see an actual dress thrown in, 80% nylon 20% spandex.  It's a formal dress, as I thought this shipment would be all tops. This is very nice and I'm hoping this fits K. Every girl should own a nice go-to red dress, it's as much a staple as an LBD. 
Sunny Girl - 100% Rayon. This is a complete miss! I do not like flowers, and do not care how trendy they are. This is a lightweight rayon material, longer in the back, would pair great with leggings.
Sweet Rain  Cropped Vest - 100% Polyester. I LOVE this one. It's crop style, which is unfortunate because neither K or I look good in crop tops. I love the shiny sequin detail.
Moon dressy shirt - This will look great on K. 51% nylon, 35% cotton and 14 % spandex. I love the boxy style but I especially love the lace detail at the top.
American Apparel Pizza Party t-shirt. I don't care for the Pizza Party pic, 50% cotton 50% polyester, but this is the softest most comfortable shirt. It would make a great sleep shirt as well, for someone who can sleep with sleeves.
 Ezra - I'm not sure how much you can tell from the pic, but this top is very dressy. The tag says it's 100% Polyester and 100% cotton crochet detail. It feels more like nylon though. I really like the deep blue color on this one, and I hope this works for K because this would look seriously great on her.
Monoreno - 100% Cotton, hand wash only. This one is my favorite. The crochet at the top really gives it character. It's lightweight and has a boxy style. It would pair great with jeans.

That's it for this box. As expected, there were some hits, some whatevers, and some what are you doing in my box reactions.
`A

TOM Box April 2014 Review

*this post contains affiliate links*
TOM Box is a time of month box, meant to make those times just a little more comfortable. There is an option to do twice the monthly make up and jewelry for just a few dollars more, which we picked. We paid $22.
This month there were two different colored boxes included, which was pretty obvious it included the makeup items. When we have picked the double makeup/jewelry option in the past, we have found they send the exact same items, just two of them. I was hoping that the two different colored boxes meant they were including different items in each one.
This is the snacks they sent this month. I like that it's chocolate and a well known trusted brand.
The jewelry option this month is bracelets. They are the same thing, but different colors. I don't wear these types of bracelets, but I do like the detail on these. The green one has what I think is an elephant and a second silver decoration. The blue one has a flower and leaf, which I really like. Sorry about the different size pics but it is what it is.
Common Goat Sense LLC, Homemade Goat Milk Soap - I like that an Etsy type product was included.
Cailyn Eye Polish in Mink-  RV - $15 - I really like this stuff, even if I don't personally use it. It's a good quality and I like that better brands are now being included in the TOM boxes.
Philip B Lovin Leave-in Conditioner - I've gotten ths stuff before. I neither like nor dislike it. Paraben and Phthalate free, color and keratin treatment safe.
J Cat Roll it up Auto Lip Liner in Amaranth Pink - $4.99
nugg Face Mask  in Soothing - $3.29 These seem to be everywhere lately, but this is the first one I've received in a sub box. I'm actually happy to try it. It's getting great reviews. I've read that it's best to apply a thin layer in place of your normal moisturizer. Also, people seem to be keeping theirs in the refrigerator after opening.
Skin & Co Truffle Body Milk - This is a very good size sample. I love that it's another trusted brand.
TOM Box has really stepped up their game lately. I like that they are no longer just sticking to drugstore brands, but including products that ladies will actually use. I haven't added up the value, due to the sample sizes, but it's definitely an improved box this month.
`A

Thursday, April 9, 2015

ModCloth Stylish Surprise April 2015 Review

We have never tried the Modcloth Stylish Surprise before, so we were happy to try it out. Stylish Surprise is a grab bag, and you never know what you are going to get. We picked a variety of sizes. This review is on the dresses only, as our tops have not yet arrived. We paid $20 each and all sales are final. We know ModCloth has vintage looking styles, and love the 50's style clothes on their website, so that's what we were hoping for. Any items that don't work will be listed for swap on the MSA site. We are including brand names, but not prices because this is last seasons items they are trying to clear out of inventory.
 
Nicolette Mason For ModCloth - I thought this was really cute in the sense that it has the vintage look we were hoping for. But it's pink, and neither one of us wear pink. It's lined, with a slip skirt, and petticoat, and many layers to make it poofy. And it has a bow, which is not my style at all. K likes bows, and she likes polka dots, but not pink. This is a formal, and unlikely we will be keeping this one. I would have worn this in the 80's to an 8th grade dance. But outside that? Nope.
Marina - This is also a formal cocktail dress. K has a wedding to go to this summer where she will need a nice dress. This will be a weeklong event, with many different activities, and ends with a trip to the keys. This is partly why we bought so many dresses, hoping to get some items for her trip. This one has possibility. I really like this one. Color, style. Really like it.
Tatyana - This one is knee length. The sparkle is K's style, but not mine. The length is too old for her, and too old for even me. It feels like really good quality, and I'm sure would look great on the right person. We are unlikely to keep this one.
Decode 1.8 - We love this one. This is also very formal, although I don't know how much you can tell from the pic. It's pure white. The back has a very pretty cut out, which I tried to show. This would make a great wedding dress for a casual wedding. Neither one of us are planning a wedding, and the length is way too long, so we can't keep it.
Bibico - This is a 3 quarter sleeve corduroy dress. With pockets. Barf. Just No. Really, this is super ugly. We are NOT keeping. Again, Barf! This looks appropriate for an Amish village. The tag says it's clothing with effortless style. Well, put some effort into maybe creating a style?
Eucalyptus - This is definitely one of my favorites. This is also a possibility for K to take on her trip. If not, I'm keeping, I really love it.
C. Luce - This style is super cute, it's a sheath dress. I know the pic looks pink?, but it's really orange. A color that does not look good on either one of us. The material is also a little thinner, so it would look best on those that do not have a tummy.
City Triangles - We LOVE this one as well. This is also a good possibility for K to take on her trip. I really love the detail on this one. The embroidery, bling band framing the belt line.
Ark & Co - This is about as pretty as the corduroy one. You can't really see it, but there are thin stripes on this. It's just gross material, gross style, and gross color. Verdict? it's gross. NOT keeping. Oh, and it comes with a matching belt. I guess for a 70's dress up theme? with go go boots? Also, it's sparkly. Which still does not look good on the color.
Innovation Femme- I really like this one when looking at it. But after I tried it on? Not so much. How to describe it's issue. It looks like it should be great. But, do you see the place where the belt goes? That actually does not sit on the waist, and also does not sit below the breasts. It's just randomly placed, and when it's on it's just uncomfortable. The material is rayon so it's meant to be dressy.
Lush - I LOVE this one. I might take this on my next cruise, I'm thinking New Years Eve. This is strapless, and shiny. It's short enough to pull it off either with or without the belt.  I tried it and it looks great both ways.
Ark & C0 - Oh this is so 80's Madonna super cute. Unfortunately, it runs really small and we cannot keep this. I'm not sure either one of us realistically have anywhere we'd wear it to anyway, so not much of a loss. I think it might fit my niece and look good on her. It's cute though.
Chi Chi - We have mixed reactions to this. I hated it on sight, but K really likes it. But then again, I do not like 3-d flowers on clothes, I don't care how in style it is right now. I do love the color combination though. Also, I love the ruffle petticoat.
RYU - This is jersey material, with a frilly design on the bottom. The straps are adjustable and have detail on them. This does not work. It looks like a dress that couldn't decide what it wants to be. The frilly design makes it more dressier, but the jersey keeps it too casual for dress up. Is it a pool dress? club? cocktail? Is it pajamas? Fancy Lingerie? Sigh...it doesn't even know.
Pink Owl - This is my top favorite! I LOVED this one on. I like the style, I like the red belt. It's super comfortable. It's stretchy, but the material isn't' too thin. The only issue is it's slightly too tight in the chest. I'm going to try and swap for a Large. But I really loved this one.

All in all I think we got a good mixture of dresses. Some will work for me and some will work for K. We did not get the 50's vintage looking style we were hoping for, which is a little disappointing.
`A








 

Monday, March 30, 2015

Wantable Intimates March 2015 Review

*this post contains affiliate links*
Since I'm trying to catch up on reviews, I'm posting everything that was still outstanding tonight. This is from Wantable Intimates Subscription Service. Wantable has different options, accessories, makeup, intimates, and fitness.
Sophie B Chemise with Thong - $42 The fit on this is incredibly comfy. The light pink against the black is just pretty.
Wantable is $40 for the first month, then $36/month after that. You can cancel or skip at anytime. You fill out a questionnaire and should only receive items that you love or are ok with, but none of the items that you do not like.
`A
 

 

PopSugar Must Have Box Resort March 2015 Review

PopSugar Must Have Resort Box - A couple time a year, PopSugar releases Limited Edition extra special boxes. These come in really nice bigger boxes, and everything is individually wrapped. It's super fun opening.
Stephanie Johnson White Dot Train Case - $60. This is a really nice Limited Edition train case. It's supposed to be leak proof, in case something spills mid travels.
Sloane Stationery Passport Holder - $48  PopSugar Exclusive - K did not have a passport holder yet, so she got this one. It's pretty nice and says Bon Voyage.
 

Drunk Elephant C-Firma Day Serum - $80 - This is full size. Packed with antioxidants, fruit enzymes, and essential nutrients. I was ready to move on to a new daily serum, so happy to get this!
Jane Iredale Warm My Steppes makeup Kit - $58. this comes with two lip glosses, blush, and bronzer in one easy to go compact. The colors are a little too dark for me, so I'm not keeping, but it's pretty nice.
Jacobsen Salt Co. Pure Se Salt Cocktail Salt - $14. Great for rimming cocktail glasses, margaritas anyone?
Lele Sadoughi Half Moon Pendant - $110. PopSugar Exclusive. K loved this immediately, and it really looks great on her.
 
The resort boxes are some of my favorites. Actually, most of the LE boxes are my faves. We paid $100 and the value is over $370 for this box.
`A