Sunday, December 21, 2014

Walmart Beauty Box Winter 2014 Review

The Walmart Beauty Box is available once again. K got her box, but I did not receive mine yet. I'm sure it's on the way.  The box is $5, which I think is designed to cover shipping. You fill out a profile and they are supposed to gear the box more toward your age. K is in the younger age group and she got 2 Ponds products, and 3 Dove products. I'm not sure I'm getting how this mix was for the younger crowd.
 Ponds Rejuveness Anti-Wrinkle Cream - I can't picture why they included an anti-aging product, but I guess never too young to start?
Ponds Wet Cleansing Towelettes Original Fresh - K can use these. 
Dove Advanced Hair System Oxygen Moisture Shampoo & Conditioner - K is out of shampoo, so we are sending her home with several different options. She said she'll use these first.
Dove Deep Moisture shower - K is ok with this.
Covergirl Outlast All-day lipcolor Canyon - K didn't want anything to do with this one, so we'll trade it. The color and the brand is just not for her.  
This extra sample packet was included. K is not interested in trying it, and it's not her color anyway.
We did not like this seasons box as well as we liked the Fall box. Mostly because it didn't seem to be that much of a variety. First time subscribers: Your subscription will be processed when you sign up and you will receive the current seasonal box. For all future Beauty Boxes (2nd, 3rd, 4th, etc.) you will only be charged when your next Beauty Box is shipped. Each seasonal Beauty Box is a limited edition and may sell out at any time. Note: Beauty products may vary by box.
~A

Saturday, December 20, 2014

Quarterly Co Beauty Box #1 Review

Quarterly Co Beauty Box #1 arrived today. I knew I was getting a Quarterly Box today, but I just wasn't sure which one. I also wasn't sure what to expect, since this is the first beauty box. It turns out, it's a bunch of stuff from previous boxes, so we have definitely seen most of the items before. The cost was $75 + shipping, and it was guaranteed to have over $100 worth of items.
Muy Cool T Shirt By Splengish $55- This was from the Nina Garcia Box #NGQ02. I like this. I had only felt ok about it when I first got it, but the more I wear it the more I actually really like it. This is super comfortable. K wanted it last time, but since I got it she is getting this one.
O.P.I. nail polish, Greenade $7 -  by #NG. This is a custom color designed exclusively for this Nina Garcia box #NGQ02. I didn't care for it the first time I got it, and I haven't changed my mind this time around.
Revive Moisturizing Renewal Night Serum $47 - Also from the #NGQ02 box - I am THRILLED to get this again. LOVED it last time, LOVE it this time! This brand is so expensive (full size is $235) that I would not be buying this on my own.
Richer Poorer Socks Savant Blue/Yellow - $12 + 12 - This is from the Harry Shum Jr. Box #HSJ01. These are a mens item, clearly labeled mens item, and mens sizes 6-12. Two pairs included. Two. I do not like these. 
K is going to use them. See, she is home for the weekend and once again she showed up with no socks. Seriously, I don't know what happens to all her socks. She loses them faster than I can get her stocked up. This does not bother her.
Surya Brasil Sapien Women Shave GelThis - $20.39 is from the Nina Garcia #NGQ03 box. This is Vegan, Natural. This is also free from Parabens, BHT, EDTA, Sulfates, Phthalates and Synthetic Fragrance. I'm sending this home with K, along with other necessities such as shampoo and shower gel.
CK One Color Pure Color Lipstick in Kiss it - $8.97 This was from the #NGQ03 box.
LAFCO floral soap, Fresh Cut Gardenia $17 - This is from the #NGQ02 box. I feel the same way I did the first time I received this, the scent is way too strong and florally for me.
Flight 001 D.I.Y Dopp Bag - $25 this is from the #HGQ02 - The bag is kind of cute. But, I do not have any use for this. I travel way too much to not already own enough of these types of items.

There was a total value of around $204, which is double what they guaranteed us. I didn't know this would be a bunch of repeat items, but this makes sense as they probably have extra stock from some things. We are not able to use everything, but the items we will be using make the value of the box. The only item I'm disappointed to see included is the socks. And that goes for both pairs.  I mean, why, just why? This was supposed to be a women's box. If they had left the socks out I would have been perfectly content with the contents as is.

Friday, December 19, 2014

GlossyBox December 2014 Review

Glossy Box- $21 a month- This box contains five surprise luxury beauty products a month. They have also gotten much more predictable on their shipping this year. I have not read any spoilers this month, so I was totally unaware of what to expect.
 
I loved the box this month. This is different than the traditional pink GlossyBox, and sometimes mixing it up is just fun!
Rituals Cosmetics Miracle Scrub in Ginsing & Ginkgo Biloba Full size is $17 -  I won't be able to handle the ingredients, but I still love that a hand scrub was included. So great to have included on a month that also had nail polish.
Ciate Paint Pot in All Aglow, Mini size. Full size would be $10 and comes in a trinket that you can hang on your tree. This is gold glitter polish, said to have specks of red as well. I actually like to see mini nail polishes in boxes, I never go through an entire jar, and this especially, being so festive, is pretty much only useful around the holidays.
Bellapierre Cosmetics Mineral Lipstick in Burlesque - FULL Size included $19.99 - I LOVE this brand, this has replaced my previously favorite lipstick brand. but the color? This one is a little too bright of a pink.
Toni & Guy Leave in Conditioner - Full Size is 16.99, but on sale at Target for $9.19. - As you can guess, this is a drugstore brand.
Nuxe Masque Crème Fraiche De Beaute Full size is $32- This is a face mask. Apply liberally to the face, wait 10 min, then massage in anything that wasn't already absorbed. The timeing of this is wonderful, and I'm feeling really dehydrated due to the weather. This is set to have a scent of orange blossom, so I should be able to handle that.
 
I love the type and the mix of products this month. I only wish I could personally use more of them.  If you are interested please email brierreview@gmail.com and we will send you an invitation. We get glossydots, but I don't know what you would get.
~A

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Popsugar Must Have Special Holiday Edition 2014 Review

I feel like I'm the last person on earth to get my Special Edition Holiday box this year, so I was thinking it's about time. Normally we are one of the first, because we are on the West Coast, not sure what happened this year.
 
It's worth noting that the Special Edition Holiday box was really big. I didn't even recognize this was a subscription box delivery. Seriously. I thought to myself, "Oh Angie. I told you cut down on mixing cocktails and online Holiday shopping sprees." My second thought was "Cool, what'd I get myself?" I've surprised myself more than once this month. I'm just assuming Black Friday must have been awesome for me this year. 
 
What I love the most about the Special Edition boxes is that everything is individually wrapped. I don't know why, but it makes it feel so darn special.
Loeffler Randal Envelope Clutch $70 - I did not open mine, so I am borrowing a pic from another blogger. I am not sure if this is rude or not, but I hope not. I intend to swap mine. I have no use for a clutch. Also, this is bigger than a wallet, but too small to be useful.
Turkish Tee Diamond Throw $65- This was designed for PopSugar. It's much bigger than I thought, 50X70, it actually is blanket size. This is also slightly thinner than I imagined, but it's thicker than the Turkish Towels. I guess it's what can be called "lightweight". I kinda like it.
Habit Cosmetics 21 Nefertiti - $18 This color has gold specks in it, although you can't see from this pic. I guess it's called Myrrh. It's a mocha color with a copper sheen. Not my color. It's 5-FREE, vegan, Cruelty Free, and Gluten free. I was unaware nail polish could have gluten in it. Is that a thing? Not having gluten in nail polish?

Kate Somerville Exfolikate Intensive Exfoliating Treatment - $22 This is the item I was most excited to try. I'm happy to see it, I just wish the size were a little bigger. Papaya, Pineapple, and Pumpkin Enzymes are formulated to naturally exfoliate dead skin cells, without over-drying. I'm waiting until this weekend to try just in case it really does dry me out.
 Droga Chocolates Money on Honey - $7.95 Well, it's a snack. So, as you can imagine I've already sampled. This came with 4 chocolates. I thought it was going to be honey, but it actually is chocolate covered caramel. I guess the caramel is made with wildflower honey. It's yummy.
RMS Beauty Living Luminizer and Brightening Brush - $50 I don't quite have the hang of using luminizers. At least not without looking oddly pale in the wrong places. I intend to keep trying though.
Illume Gilded Amberleaf Metallic Knob Tin - $23.50 I saw spoilers, but I still wasn't sure what was in this box. The candle case is so pretty and luxe. Unfortunately, the candle itself smells like a god awful really strong perfume. I can't handle it and I'm glad it has a lid. I've already boxed it back up.
I may not be keeping most of the items, but I'm actually happy with the box. I feel this was well curated and a good mix of luxe items for this time of year.
~A

Little Lace Box December 2014 Review

This is our first time trying Little Lace box. Little Lace Box is a subscription service that focuses on unique and hard to find items. It's $39.99/month.  This is a fairly new subscription box, launched by her three sisters, a story I just LOVE. The box is designed for women ages 20-35. Now, only one of us is actually in that age range, but this box appeals to both of us. I did not see any spoilers ahead of time, so I had no idea what to expect!
The box showed up clearly labeled, I knew I was opening this one first! It included a letter and I ended up reading every word. The. They stated the box will seem a little "disconnected", which I agree, it does seem random. But we really liked it. 
 
Fresh Water Pearl Necklace from a Fresh Start $28 - This was made for Little Lace Box. The words that come to mind is delicate and sweet. The link I posted has a better pic, where you can tell the chain is gold.
Fresh Water Pearl Bracelet by Stia Couture $35 - Matching bracelet! Also, sweet and delicate.  I do not own much gold jewelry, so I actually like this.
Three Sisters Apothecary Handcrafted Bar Soap Sweet Orange Coconut Milk -$3.25. This smells absolutely amazing!! The orange scent really comes through. I can't wait to try it.
Whitney English Mini Day Designer - $48.99 This is the cutest!!! We love it! I initially thought K would be getting it, because she really utilizes planners, but I'm thinking I might just use this one myself. What I like most (besides the design), is the dates are not pre-filled, which could expire before you fully get to use it. With this one, you fill in dates on your own, so this can last more than a calendar year.

I calculated a total value of over $115. The day planner is worth the cost of the box, and everything else is a bonus! January's inspiration is Diner Cars. Like old-fashioned Diner Cars. I actually can't wait to see the box next month, I'm that intrigued. What did you think of the December Little Lace Box?
`A
 
 
 

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

ipsy Glam Bag December 2014 Review

Ipsy- $10/ month/ no shipping charges. You get a cute makeup bag filled with 4-5 personalized beauty products.

 
This months make-up bag is back to looking like a pencil pouch. But it does follow the December trend where they have a black bag.
Bumble and Bumble Blow Dry Repair - I'm already a huge Bumble and bumble fan, so I'm thrilled to see anything BB. I have not tried this yet, but I'm sure I'll love it because I love all BB products. This serum-in-creme elixir for dry or damaged hair helps seal split ends and protects against heat, breakage and UV damage, too. Proven to help repair hair with every blow dry and keep styles looking soft, smooth and healthy for up to 3 days.
Cailyn cosmetics Just Mineral Eye Polish in Orchid - It's eye shadow in a fancy tube. I think the color is pretty and the packaging is incredibly cheap plastic.
NYX Butter Lip Balm in Parfait - This is lip balm with a tint. I can always use more lip balm so I don't mind this at all.
Nourish Organic Renewing Eye Cream - oooohhh, this is not yet on the market, will not be available until January. In the meantime, ipsy customers can receive 30% all December with the offer code IPSYLOVE30.
Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes - I'm never disappointed to receive Tarte products. That especially goes for this mascara, which I LOVE! Even travel size is a hit for me since I can easily toss it into my weekend bag.

I really liked my ipsy bag this month. Not all months are a hit with me, but this month pretty much is.
`A