Saturday, August 29, 2015

Beauty DNA August 2015 Review

Beauty DNA is a monthly subscription service that send out 1 full size item each month. Generally these are higher value skin care or hair care items. For the months that I have received a lower value item, they have sent two, which is the case this month. the cost is $25/month and it is always a good value for what you receive. They have a unique matching system, where you fill out your likes/dislikes, and you do not receive items that you don't like. I have had fairly good luck with being matched with items that I like and that I can use.
 
  
Keranique Lift & Repair Treatment Spray - $18. This product line is engineered to treat thinning hair in women. This is not a condition I suffer from, but I'm always up for more volume. Aside from the volume adding benefits, it also is designed to treat breakage and frizzy hair and split ends. That's a great combination and benefits my long hair could use. I'm currently using another product that I really like, but I will be taking a break from that to start trying this.
 
 
Epicuren Coconut Hydrating Milk - $24. This is designed fro both skin and hair. It has a great coconut smell. It's lightweight and improves hydration, and works for all skin types. I really want to try this, but I already have someone in mind to gift to that desperately needs it.
I'm pleased with this months Beauty DNA  package. I'm looking forward to seeing what they have in store for me next month.
`A

Friday, August 28, 2015

PopSugar Must Have Box August 2015 Review

PopSugar Must Have Box is $39.95/month. You can get a price break if you order for the 3 or 6 month plans. This is one of my favorite boxes. Each month they send items that I either would not have gotten for myself, or not thought to try. This is the box we recommend the most to try if you have never done a subscription service. Inspiration this month was Morning Routines, Organization, Back to School, and Celebrations. I think this month clearly had a fall review.
 
 Full Look at the August Box.
http://americancolorsclothing.com/the-scarf-blueclay.html
AMERICAN COLORS Mediterranean Plaid Scarf - $79. I loved this one. I like getting scarves, and I especially like getting them for fall season. This is not my top favorite, but I liked it enough to get K one also.
MERI MERI Toot Sweet Pink Stripe Napkins  - $6. These are really cute. I'm not sure I host anything that requires fancy napkins, but they are really cute.
HAPPY JACKSON Yay Lunch! Lunch Box - $10. Each August we receive a lunch box. I like that this one has a strap to keep it held together in your bag.
SOUTHERN CULTURE Shortstacks Pancake & Waffle Mix Flavor is Birthday Cake - $8. I really like that this was included. I had to get an extra one of these for K also. I will be hopefully trying this out this weekend.
PASTEL Best Day Ever Mug - $12. I don't need another coffee mug unless it's an oversized one. So, I'm gifting this. Besides, the positive saying is just a little much for me before I've actually downed my coffee in the morning. It might be ok for afternoon though.
FOLGERS ICED CAFÉ ™ Caramel Macchiato Flavored Coffee Drink Concentrate - $5. This is 1.62 oz, and I thought that meant trial size, but now I'm finding this it doesn't. This is a concentrate, so a little goes a long ways. This is a sponsored item, which I'm happy to try.
MYYOGAWORKS 3–Month Trial - $45. These are online yoga classes. This is normally $15/month, and they offer a free 14 day trial. I like that 3 months was included.
ROYAL APOTHIC Tea Balm Firming Eye Treatment - $36. This is perfect timing for me, my current eye cream is almost out. This has antioxidants and superfruits and etc. I love how cute the packing is for Royal Apothic products. The box is so cute, and high quality, that I might just keep it on my counter in the box, LOL.
Full look at this months PopSugar Must Have Box. I've calculated a value of around $165. I was pretty happy with the curation of products this month. I won't be using everything, but I really like the items I will be keeping.
`A

Glossybox August 2015 Review

Glossybox is $21/month and you get five beauty products. I think I've discovered more brands that are new to me than any other box. They include a mix of deluxe trial and full size products. They have a nice rewards program. You have the opportunity to complete surveys for points called Glossydots, and then when you reach 1000 you receive the next month's box free.
Glossybox has the highest quality gift boxes in the business. they are really nice. And cute. They also have great info cards that tell about the products.
SPARITUAL Authentically - $12. Full size included. This pic does not do this color justice. this is really pretty. It's a matte shimmer. I really like this brand, so I'm happy to get this.
MANNA KADAR (Lash Primer) - Trial size included. Full size cost is $24. I used to use a lash primer daily, but I stopped awhile ago. I have never tried a different brand, so I'm actually looking forward to trying this. Primers your lashes look fuller, and this one is said to nourish lashes as well.
LOLLIPOPS (Lip Balm)  in Delicieuse- $5.50. I believe this is a Paris brand, I've never heard of it and I can't find where to buy it in the US.  This lip balm protects against UV rays and pollution with its paraben-free formula, rich in antioxidants, and some other beneficial ingredients. I love getting lip balms because I use them regularly.
POP BEAUTY (Kajal Pen in Sooty Black) - $16. Full size included. I do not wear black eyeliner so I'll be gifting this. I have also never heard of this brand, so I can't tell you much about it. There is a corrector eraser on the end of this, which is really nice.
GLAMGLOW (YOUTHCLEANSE Daily Clearing Cleanser) - $39 for full size. This is a generous sample size, it's 1 oz, and full size is 5 oz.  I LOVE this brand and I first discovered it in Glossybox. I am thrilled to see this included.
This is one last look at the August 2015 Glossybox. This month there were three brands that were new to me, and I'll be trying at least two of them. I'm please with the items this month and it's tough for me to pick out a favorite.
`A
 

 

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Monthly Express Aug 2015 Review

Monthly Express is a monthly subscription service. Savor your "ME" time. The boxes contain luxurious hand-selected items from around the world in full or deluxe sizes, picked for the highest quality and ingredients, and center around "self-nourishing". I have been really wanting to try this box, but at the steep monthly price tag $129/month, I just never took the leap. They recently offered a deal on gilt.com, for 1 month for $75 or 3 months for $225, so I jumped at the changed to try it and grabbed the 3-month deal. This box is similar to a special edition box, so I assumed I would like it. I tried to save my voucher from gilt city so I could sign up at a later month, but it did not work that way. ME contacted me right away to let me know my box for August was already shipping.
This came in a basic cardboard box, with the logo stamped on the front. The shipping was so fast, that I really smiled when I saw this in the mailbox. The inside box was high quality and wrapped in a bow. Nice touch.
There were two cards included. There was a little card (not shown) signed from T&T, which is Tara and Travis who curate the box. The inspiration this month was Sun. I liked the info card, it explained the products well.
Treasure Collection Turkish Towel by Smyrna Collections - $35. Turkish towels are said to absorb water as fast as a terry towel and dry very quickly. I have received many of these in subscription boxes, but I have yet to try one. They do feel quality. I should just try one eventually. I believe this is the reverse navy version.

Key West Aloe Oatmeal Facial Scrub - $16.50. Exfoliate and rejuvenate your skin with Oatmeal Facial Scrub made with 20% Aloe Vera, apricot seeds, and papaya and apple extracts. I really like this brand and I have tried other products from them before. I am alomost out of my current facial scrub and was just wondering this morning what I was going to replace it with, so happy to see this.
Karin Herzog Essential Mask - $60. This is a deep hydrating mask. You just put it on for about 5-10 minutes, then rinse. Easy enough to use in the shower. This product has 2% active oxygen and retinol, so it's recommended that you apply with a brush so your fingertips don't absorb the active ingredients. ME included the Small Karin Herzog Brush - $6, which I thought was a really nice touch.
Belle de Provence Small Tree Brush - $15. The Belle de Provence Small Tree Brush is a unique bath brush most commonly used for nails. It is made from treated woods, and all natural boar bristles. Perfect for hands and feet. Made in France. This is really nice.
While searching for info about the brush, I just discovered that ME has a shop and sells the items that are in the monthly boxes. I am using that link for the brush because I couldn't find it online anywhere else. I only looked at a couple items, but I did notice they are selling them for less than sites I have listed. If the other items listed in the shop are from previous boxes, then I am really going to like this box!!
This was an exciting box for us, with it being our first one. Also because it did feel luxurious, the products were high quality as promised and so was the packaging. The value vs the price wasn't that exciting for me however. This box has an approximate overall value of $132.50, or $122 if counting the ME website prices. If I had paid full price, I would feel this was inadequate. We have been doing subscription box reviews for a couple years now, and I can tell you that the most popular and successful boxes are the ones where the value is at least 1.5 times the cost of the box. When the value comes out to the amount you paid, you start questioning if you should just save your money and go to a store and look for random items you might not otherwise buy. For the deal I got I think this is a great value and I'm thrilled with it. We are looking forward to next month.
`A
 

 

Sunday, August 9, 2015

Quarterly Culinary Box #YUM01 - Review

Quarterly Co Culinary Box #YUM01 costs $50/quarter. This is a new box for them. They will have different curators each time, which I think is a great idea. This is the first box they have done. The inspiration theme this time is "Favorite Summer Treats". The curators for this box are Amanda Hesser and Merrill Stubbs. "This quarter we're outfitting you for the summer heat".
First look at the box. Everything was very well bubble wrapped, which is great since there were so many breakable items.
Quarterly Co always includes a card from the curator describing the items. This time the curators did not include much of a personalized note explaining why they selected the items, but they did include a couple recipes, which I think is a nice touch.
Sucre Source Polka Dot Ice Pop Sticks - $10. I couldn't find the polka dot ones, but I did find the striped ones. These are really cute and will make great popsicles. Sucre Source has a few other recommendations for use, rather than just popsicles, such as slide one into an ice cream sandwich or piece of watermelon for an easy pop! I would not have thought of this.
Zoku Silicone Ice Pop Makers - $16.99. These are really cute, although I was kind of surprised there was another item included for popsicles. These get great reviews as the silicone is said to just slide right off, so no having to run under water.
Heirloom Home And Studio Ceramic Berry Basket - $15.95. This is a solid little basket for berries, that you can fill to either use at the table or when prepping.
 
Royal Rose's Pure And Intense Raspberry Syrup - $12.50. This syrup is organic with simple ingredients: filtered water, organic raspberries, and organic sugar. The idea is to use the syrup for popsicles, but since this is a syrup, this has many uses. Cocktails, pour over ice cream, pancakes, coffee, etc....
Royal Rose's Lavender Lemon Syrup - $11.50. Same as above, this can be used for many different purposes. I personally skip anything with lavender in it, so this will be gifted.
Once last look at the entire box. This box had a value of approximate $67. What did you think of the first Quarterly Culinary box? I do not have small children at home, and I think this box would work better for households that do. I am looking forward to seeing what other curators come up with.
`A
 

Saturday, August 8, 2015

Play! by Sephora - New Subscription Service Coming Soon!

Sephora is starting it's own subscription box, for $10/month. This box will contain fix deluxe samples, and be curated according to a theme. Similar to Birchbox and ipsy. With the variety of brands they have access to, this should be a great box. According to Women's Wear Daily, the first box will include Sephora Collection Rouge Infusion lip gloss in Peony, Marc Jacobs Beauty gel crayon eyeliner in Blacquer, Ole Henriksen Sheer Transformation Face Crème, Bumble and Bumble's Hairdresser's Invisible Oil and Glamglow Supercleanse facial cleanser.

 
The "Play! By Sephora" boxes will roll out in Boston and Columbus and Cincinnati, Ohio in September. I believe these are the test markets, then they will roll out to other cities later in 2016. I hope they become available in my city sooner rather than later! I'm also curious, do you think they will include foil packets? Sephora, if you are listening, we don't need them.
`A

Friday, August 7, 2015

Metronaps

Have you heard of Metronaps? I was a conference recently and one of the vendors had these out for  demos. My workplace does not have this. I imagine workplaces like google have this, because I think I saw this on the movie interns.
I think it would be great to have in the workplace for disaster planning, if you cannot leave. But other than that, I don't know too many places that encourage napping at work. Maybe tech companies, like Microsoft, who provide you with things that make you not have to leave. I think this would be great for a power nap. I did not get inside one of these, so I don't know if a person would feel claustrophic or not. Either way, I wish all airplane seats were like this. I can't seem to stay awake on a plane and this would make me much more comfortable.
`A