Tuesday, October 28, 2014

PopSugar Must Have Box Oct 2014 Review

So happy to see my PopSugar Must Have Box today. With all of the shipping mixups, I wasn't sure when I'd be getting mine. I never did receive an automatic shipping information. When I contacted the special email address, lisaandteam@popsugar.com, they were able to tell me the box was on it's way. If you have not received your shipping info, or your box, you should contact them right away.
 
Isaac Jacobs International Acrylic Frame - $36 This is a magnetic frame, very sturdy and durable.
Happy Socks Animal Socks - $12 These are softer than I thought they would be.
Nailed Kit Halloween Decals - $8 We've gotten items from Nailed Kit before and always think they're cute.
K. Hall Designs Shoreline Shea Butter/Olive Oil Bar Soap - $10 This item was sponsored by Progresso. I'm not sure why we got this, instead of soup, but I'm definitely not complaining.
Dean & DeLuca Pumpkin Spice Maltballs - $5.75 LOVE! Almost gone! Just glad I remembered to get the pic before I tore into it. I have really been in the mood lately for Pumpkin Spice items, and this is the first I've tasted this season.
Butter London Wink Eye Pencil - $18 I recently just discovered that butter London is more than just nails. I love getting items from brands that I already love.
 
Mine Design Chalkboard Candle - $24 - If you plan to gift this, you can write a funny picture or personalized a message to the recipient. I think that's a great idea.
PopSugar included a couple of coupons this month. Progresso sponsored the K. Hall Designs Shoreline Shea Butter/Olive Oil Bar Soap. They are also running a contest to win $1,000 Wardrobe makeover for you and 3 of your friends. You can sign up at Progresso.com/ProgressOh. Since K hasn't received a PopSugar box in a while, she is getting this one. PopSugar is $39.95/month.
~A

Sunday, October 26, 2014

Secret Outlast Gel

What I'm Raving about this week! 

 
I got this Secret Outlast gel for free through BzzAgent so I could try it out and review the product. I'm already a fan of the Secret brand, so when they asked if I wanted to review this it was an immediate yes. The gel formula means there are NO pesky white streaks. This is a fast drying gel, so this also means there are NO gel streaks left on your clothes. I like the unscented formula because I have perfume sensitivities and this doesn't have the flowery smells that can quickly get overwhelming.
 
I had a very busy day running around getting errands taken care of. I generally have to squeeze all of this into my weekend, because who has time during the week. Grocery shopping, gas, post office, and a quick trip to Home Depot to pick up potting soil for the Tulips I'm planting this year. The Secret deodorant protected me well through all that, so I then headed to Macy's for shoes. I did not find what I was looking for but ended up with two tops instead. Don't you hate it when you find something cute in a store only to see some other customers deodorant white streaks all over it? It's so gross. I'm happy to report there was no residue left behind on what I tried on. I wish all customers would do this!
~A
 

Saturday, October 25, 2014

Stay Trendy 7 item Mystery Bag October 2014

I was interested to see what the Stay Trendy Mystery Bag would contain. Just wanted to try out something other than a beauty box. Brier Review paid $25 for the 7-item box. We picked the female version, but had debated picking the male version. There is also a kids one, and a  jewelry category. I am not including links because everything is generic and I can't seem to find the exact ones for each piece. I'm only including prices when I can find something similar.
 
Memory Foam Insoles $5.95 - I'll use these. You can cut them according to your own shoe size, and they are pretty foamy, so these will come in handy.
Soft & Cosy white socks $3.99 each - This is labeled as the softest socks in the world.....maybe. I think they are pretty soft. Well, I like the white ones! The yellow is like Big Bird.
Cell Phone Case - 5th generation $2.99. I think this is ok cute. I don't have any use for it, but I think it's ok. If I can find someone who has 5th generation phone, I'll gladly gift this.
Romantic Sini Sundress - $15.99 - I really like this and will wear it as a beach cover-up next time I'm in the Caribbean. It says XL, but no way it's an XL. At least not according to standard US sizes.
  
As Seen on TV Toothpaste Dispenser - $12.49. I don't even know what to do with this. I think it might be useful for someone with kids, or carpal tunnel, or for someone who has a hard time with toothpaste. This just does not work for my household. This is not really a plastic gadget type of household.
Car USB Plug-In - $2.26 - We have plenty of these. We haven't had a pink one yet, but we get plenty of them throughout the year. I don't think I've been to a tradeshow in years where we don't receive at least a couple of them. I will pass on if I find someone who thinks it's actually useful.
Crystal Avenue Earrings - $9.95 I don't think that's the price of these, but it's the only price I could find for earrings of this brand. I can't even find words to describe how cheap these are.
Footless Leggings Hot Pink - $14.99. These would go great with an 80's costume.
 
I paid $25 for this box. I found similar items, with displayed brand names, and based on published prices I generously estimated the value at around $72.60. I may use around $25 worth. The box was supposed to guarantee $149.99 MSRP, but I can't say this box meets that. The shipping took a really long time, it did not ship out in the 5-7 days promised. I also understand that some folks are still waiting on their items to ship and are not receiving an appropriate response from customer service.
 
At this time, we are just not able to recommend this company. We can revisit that when they are able to fix their marketing, customer service, and their shipping issues.
~A
 
 

Sample Society October Giveaway

The contest for the Sample Society October box is now open!! This closes November 8th.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

ipsy October 2014 DOUBLE Review

Mom's Ipsy

 
Noyah Lipstick - Deeply in Mauve - LOVE!!! This is my second favorite item, the color is so pretty. The tube part is gold which looks classy.
Nicole by OPI - On a Gilt Trip - FULL SIZE - LOVE!! This is my favorite item this month. I truly love gold nails for the fall. I haven't quite caught up to fall yet, I'm still wearing French (gasp), but that will be changing this weekend.
epice Purifying Exfoliant - This was good timing. I just used up the rest of my aloe Exfoliant that I got a couple months ago. It's a full 1 oz, so it's good size.
Ayres Body Butter Patagonia - I have received this before, and have to admit I have not tried it.
Model Co VolumEyes Mascara - I never grow tired of receiving mascara, so this is always welcome.

  K's Ipsy

The makeup bag this month is super cute, and one of my favorites!
Warm Love Pumpkin Exfoliating mask - Excited to see this, always can use exfoliators, and excited to see pumpkin for fall. Love pumpkin items this time of year.
Indie Lee Brightening Cleanser - Love this!! It's paraben free and phthalates free! I love brightening cleansers for my face.
Tattooed Waterproof eyeliner - LOVE THIS! It's liquid, and I only use liquid eyeliner so this is perfect.
Fig & Roe Roseberry Hand Lotion - This is one of my favorite brands. I love the rose tinted lipgloss I got from them, so I'm really excited to try the hand cream. It smells good, smells like berry.
Starlooks LipGloss in Guilty Pleasure - I love nudes a lot, so I'm really excited to try this one. It's just so cute!
K - I really like my ipsy bag this week, it's awesome. For $10? It's awesome.
A - I really like my ipsy bag this week as well. Our bags could not be so different, but yet we each believe we got the better bag, lol.
 

Sample Society Allure - Giveaway

Sample Society reshipped my lost October box. Which UPS found and delivered to me yesterday. So, imagine my surprise when I arrived home today to find another October Box waiting for me. Sample Society has kindly insisted I keep for my trouble. What better way to put this extra box to use than to host a Giveaway?!
Deadline to enter is November 7th.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, October 24, 2014

GlossyBox October 2014 Review

All of my shipments have been terribly slow this month. So, I was happy to see my GlossyBox today.
 
 
Proganix Anti-Fade Weightless Argan Oil + UV Protection $9.99 FULL SIZE included  - You apply this to wet hair and comb through before styling. The fragrance for me is way too perfume like so I won't be able to tell you how this works.
Vince Camuto Amore Eau De Parfum - This is the absolute cutest bottle of perfume. It's pretty rare to see a sample size in the same bottling as the full size. I can't use it, but I still love it!
Tarte Cosmetics Lipsurgence Power Pigment in Awakening - $24 Full Size included - This is a lip tint. I like Tarte products. This color is not for me, but I wish it were.
Nails Inc. Westmister Bridge Matte Top Coat - $10 I love this. My favorite item. This is great for taking a nail color that is too glossy and making it matte. It can help calm a color. The reviews are great and says it dries quickly.
Sesha Botanical Hydro Mask - $9 each - This is my second favorite item. I love masks. I especially love the ones that come all in one and aren't that much work for me to use. We were getting a lot of these earlier this year, but I haven't seen one in months. This is a new brand for me. Soaked in botanical extracts such as cucumber, aloe, and hyaluronic acid.
If you are interested in GlossyBox please email brierreview@gmail.com and we will send you an invitation. We get glossydots, but I don't know what you would get. It's also worth noting their shipping has been doing better lately.
`A