Friday, October 17, 2014

Glossybox Throwback Sale

GlossyBox has announced the Mystery Throwback Sale. This is a sale of previous boxes. You do not know which one you will get, but thats the fun of it.

One Box - $15
Two Boxes - $24
Three Boxes - $30

If you place an order for more than one at the same time, then it guarantees you will get different months. I was having a little issue with the website, sometimes it was working and sometimes it was only showing you could purchase one. I did manage to get the two box option.
`A

Thursday, October 16, 2014

BirchBox October 2014 Review

 
 Info Card! Thanks BB!
dr. Brandt Pores no more vacuum cleaner - My favorite item this month!! I'm absolutely loving this brand and excited to try another one of their products. This one is geared to work on blackheads, and who wants those? yuck, no thank you. This works like a mask, you apply a thin layer to "areas of concern" wait 5-10 minutes, and then you find it has turned Blue! Blue? How cool is that? Full size is $45 and if this works as well I'm expecting then I'll totally be picking up!
Macadamia Professional Flawless Cleansing Conditioner - I was hoping to get a cleansing conditioner eventually because I have been wanting to try. If you aren't familiar, this is like a two-in-one product. Basically, a conditioner that also cleanses, but focuses more on the condition part. This does not have a lather, and you have to make sure to rinse thoroughly.
Laura Geller Beauty Spackle Under Make-Up Primer - This is always welcome in my house. I've used this brand before, and I like to keep primers on stock, since I totally believe in them.
 I'm always soo curious to see what they put in this little box.
Camille Bechman Tuscan Honey Glycerine Hand Therapy  - I thought the little rose pasted on top of this little jar was totally cute. I also really love the packaging on the full size items, totally Tuscan.
Coastal Scents - Revealed 2 Eyeshadow Pallet Set - IDK why it says two, when there were 4 shadows included. I guess there are some mysteries that I'll never know!

Not everything was a hit with me this month, however, I love the thing I love more than enough to make up for it!
`A

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

QVC New Beauty Test Tube October 2014 Review

I have been slow to receive anything this month, so I was really hoping something would come today. I was so happy to see this month QVC New Beauty Testtube sitting at my door when I arrived home today. The QVC one only comes once a quarter and is different than the other NB version. You can order one from QVC or sign up for the quarterly auto one.
This was the first thing I saw when I opened the box. This is the back of the New Beauty magazine that is always included. But I gotta admit, for a brief second there I thought it was going to be talking about a featured item. hahaha
 
 
This is the booklet talking about the items that are included. I really like how nowadays it talks about the items that are actually included, rather than items that other people own. I don't know those people, but there is no other logical explanation. It also gives tips on how to use the products.  
Picture of the "tube" that it always arrives in. I still love the pink.
 
Bliss Lemon & Sage Body Butter - LOVE this!! First item I pulled out and immediately thought we are off to a good start. With the weather changing, I'm collecting all the lotions I can get, and especially purse size.
Lea Journo Pro Series Technician Shampoo Crème - for dry and damaged hair. This is paraben free and sulfate free, which makes it safe for color treated and chemically processed hair. It says it lathers, which is unusual for a sulfate free shampoo, but I'm always curious to see that work. This has chamomille, rose and lemongrass. It actually smells wonderful and the fragrance is not too strong.
it Cosmetics CC+ Cream with SPF 50 - I was just saying to myself last week when I was traveling that I only wish I had this stuff in a travel size. So, I was completely surprised and completely thrilled to see this. This is by far my favorite item in the box. I LOVE this stuff!! I can easily say this is one of my most favorite beauty finds I've discovered from sub boxes. I had received a full size from another box and I use it regularly. This color is medium and I make it work. I don't know what kind of coverage light has though, may find out some day.
Laura Geller Beauty Eye Spackle Hues Advance Primer & Eyeshadow -Baroness Brown.  This is a shadow stick with built in primer. I have used this brand/product before and can tell you it works really well.
Mally High Shine Liquid Lipstick mini - I've gotten this before and I like it. The color I got was Blossom and although it's not quite my color, I don't dislike it either.
Ole Henriksen Lemon Strips Flash Peel - Ooooh, I hope this stuff works. You just leave on for 10 min. I like the combo of ingredients, and it includes NO Parabens, No Sulfates, No Phtalates.
L'Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream - For some odd reason, I do not mix well with this brand. Everything about this should work for me, but I really cant stand the fragrance. The formula is thick and feels like a Shea Butter Cream, and works well. This is made with coconut oil, honey, and almond extract. You can't smell any of those things. Instead, you end up smelling like a grandma.
Dr. Denise Hydroshield Ultra Moisturizing Face Serum - Face serums are also on the list of things I am currently hoarding. This is a "supercharged" serum. Suitable for all skin types, but recommended not to use on oily areas.
I rarely take a pic with it all together, but I'm feeling good right now so here you go!
~A


Sunday, October 12, 2014

Sample Society Mystery Boxes Available

Sample Society has Mystery Boxes available,
 
Sample Society Mystery Box is available in 3 different sizes.
    $25 - 15 sample products - $45 value
    $18 - 10 sample products - $30 value
    $10 - 5 sample products  - $15 value
 
I believe these are made up of items from previous boxes. I'm not sure I totally understand this promotion, because Allure has now partnered with Sample Society but these are from the old boxes. I also noticed that there are different brands available from each one of these sizes, so  you might want to check which brands you are interested in prior to making a decision on the size box to purchase.
~A

Blush Mystery Beauty Box October 2014 Review

I received the Blush Mystery Beauty Box a couple days ago. But I feel so Meh! over this months bag that I haven't exactly rushed to get the review up. Now that I'm looking a little closer, I've moved up to feeling OK about it.  If you aren't familiar, Blush Mystery Beauty Box is $24.95 + shipping a month. Each month blush mystery box features travel-size and full-size beauty products worth at least $100. If you are interested, please email me at brierreview@gmail.com and I will send you a referral code from their website. You will receive a $10 gift card to use at DermStore.com, blush.com and hairenvy.com.
Blush Mystery Beauty Box always comes in a black bag, rather than a traditional box.
Klorane Shampoo with Desert Date - $15 FULL SIZE was included! This is the first time I've received a Klorane product that wasn't a dry shampoo. This particular shampoo is designed for dry, damaged, and brittle hair. I won't be using this right away, but I don't hate it either. I like that the company has a focus on environmental sustainability and the products are paraben free. It does have sulfates however.
Strivectin AR Advanced Retinol Night Treatment - full size cost is $107. I love this brand, and I'm thrilled to see any of their products. This boosts cell renewal and rejuvenates your skin, promotes elasticity and diminishes fine lines and wrinkles. This does have retinol do it's best not to go in the sun while using. This is my favorite item this month, I only wish we had gotten a bigger size.
 
Cargo Beach Blush - Cable Beach - $30 FULL SIZE included. This is a combination of Blush and Bronzer. I love these colors and I'm actually curious to see how well they blend together.
Batiste Dry Shampoo Original -  $3.99. Of course there is a dry shampoo included. I get one or two a month. And with this being my first box for October, I guess it makes sense to have that included. I still can't figure out why they are everywhere nowadays, but now that I've figured out a great way to use them with a blow-dryer, I don't hate nearly as much as I used to. I don't want to call this full size, because it's not, but it is one of the sizes DermStore sells.
Glytone Hydrating Eye Cream - $38 FULL SIZE WAS INCLUDED! Delivers all-day antioxidant rich hydration to soften and soothe the delicate eye area. This is the main featured item, and I'm thrilled to see it. This is a tie for my favorite item this month. Eye cream is one product I'm always nervous to be without, so I like to stay well-stocked.
These are the samples that were included this month. I receive a lot of Cotz Face samples, so this is nothing new. I like the Cotz brand because it's light and absorbs quickly. I was surprised to see a Klorane shampoo sample because we just received a full size bottle of it, but this one is with mango.
 
If you are interested in the Blush Mystery Beauty Bag, you can email us at brierreview@gmail.com and we will send you a referral code that will get you a $10 gift card to use at DermStore.com, blush.com and hairenvy.com.
~A

Stay Trendy Mystery Bag Alerts

Stay Trendy is currently featuring two Mystery Bags. One is for jewelry and the other is various items that were previously offered. I am trying out the one for 7 products, and I picked the version for female. I think I should have picked the male version, because sometimes they offer cooler gadgets, but I'll stay open minded on this one.
 
This Mystery Box features at least 4 jewelry products of bracelets, earrings, beads and charms. Guaranteed $100 MSRP worth of items that have been previously featured. There is a temporary price drop to $15, from $20.
 
This Mystery Box features a guaranteed $149.99 MSRP worth of items that have been previously featured. Choose from Male, Female, Kids (Ages 6 to 14). Each mystery box is guaranteed to have at least 7 items of electronics, jewelry, gadgets and apparel.
~A

Saturday, October 4, 2014

Arm & Hammer SpinBrush Truly Radiant Review

What I'm raving about this week! 

 
I finally got a chance to try this, so I thought I'd let you know what I thought. I'm used to using an electric toothbrush, but I generally get the disposable kind. The one I use regularly is lightweight, and easy to maneuver. I really liked this one, but it is much heavier than I anticipated. Which makes sense because it holds two AA batteries. The batteries will last for 4-6 weeks with two 2-minute brushings per day. This really did make my teeth feel clean. I liked the rotating head at the top, and could really feel that working on the hard to reach back teeth. I picked up replacement heads, $9 for two. This is also much bigger than my regular toothbrush choice, which is something I'm getting used to after using this all week.
 
Pros: Works well, good for hard to reach back teeth, and replacement heads are cheaper than the normal disposable brushes I usually get.
Cons: Heavier, bigger than normal, need to replace batteries every 4-6 weeks.
Verdict: I'm keeping and intend to continue using this product.
~A