Saturday, May 16, 2015

GlossyBox May 2015 Review

*this post contains referral links*
GlossyBox is $21/month, less if you sign up for one of the other 3/6/12/month options. This is one of my favorite boxes. They send it out in really sturdy and great reusable gifting boxes. They always include a great info card, so that is really helpful in getting to know the products
  
Teez Trend Cosmetics Head Over Heels Nail Lacquer Top Coat - $14. This is full size. I love getting a good quality nail polish and topcoat. The packaging on this is so cute!
Clearista Retexturing Gel - $10. This is so smooth your complexion, refine pores, reduce pigmentation and skin imperfections. I originally thought this was a hair product and was prepared to swap, but now I have to try it.
GlamGlow Powermud - $19. I am always thrilled to see GlamGlow included in any sub box. Sometimes it comes in a little jar, and sometimes it comes in these tubes. This is free of parabens, pthatalates, and sulfates. this is my favorite item this month.
Sebastian Professional Stylbrid 9 - $5. I am very happy to see a travel size hairspray. I am in the middle of packing for my next trip and was just looking around for some, so great timing for me.
Doucce Mineral Matt Lipstick 907 - $20. Full size. This is the coolest packaging for a lipstick. Love the packaging and love the color! This matte lipstick is infused with SPF 10 and vitamin E. This is going in my purse now!
This month was a great GlossyBox for me! I liked every item in the box this month. The overall value was approximately $68. If you are interested in GlossyBox, please try our link here.
`A
 

Friday, May 15, 2015

PopSugar Must Have Box May 2015 Review

PopSugar Must Have Box- $39.99/monthly. One of the most popular subscription boxes. Hand selected full sized premium items in beauty, fashion, home, fitness, and food. The items always include something fun. And the boxes almost always include a snack each month
Kitsch Tri'd & True Y-Shaped Necklace - $32. LOVE THIS. I received the gold version in another box a couple months ago, and totally love that one too! So, this is my favorite item this month and I am soo happy to get it!. Also, I saw it on TV twice now, so I'm confident it's on trend. ;)
Middle Kingdom Mini Plum Vase in Coral Red - $20. I took the pic with a quarter to show the size, it is a mini vase. This is another item that I love was included. K loved this immediately, so she's getting it!
Hammond's Candies McCraw's Flat Taffy - $1. I love getting treats from PS. This taffy definitely reminds me of summer. Beach. Promenades. Just puts me in a good mood. 
Sisters of Los Angeles Surf Sand Love Beach Towel - $40 - I love that a towel was included. This is not the highest quality, but it is super cute. It totally has me thinking of summer!
Sage & Row Bare Shave Cream - $17. This has lavender in it, so that means I can't use it. But I do like that a nice shave cream was included.
Batiste Dry Shampoo - Cherry scent - $4. I received this many times in subscription boxes, but never cherry scent. I'm actually looking forward to trying it.
 
This box has an overall value of $114, which is well over the $39.99 we paid for it. It was a fun box this month, with several items I can use and the vase that K wants. If you are interested in PopSugar Must Have Box, then check our link here.
`A


Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Luxor Box Review May 2015

Luxor Box is a new subscription box that ships semi-monthly. We paid $95, but I believe that special has ended and the cost is $125 now and they promise a value of over $250 per delivery.This is the very first box. They ship 5-7 wrapped luxury beauty, spa, and lifestyle products. I wasn't sure what to expect since this was the very first box. They shipped UPS Priority 2-Day. The box that arrived was in a white non-descript box. the inside box was very high quality, and the wrapping and tissue paper had the Luxor logo. Very nice! 
 
The info cards described the items and were also high quality.
This is a pic of the first look. The box was much heavier than expected. Each item was also packaged ready to gift.
MSC Vanilla Exfoliating Sugar Scrub - $33. I love this stuff and very happy with the flavor! Very happy to see this. I just used the last of my sugar scrub so this was good timing. This is infused with in-house imported Madagascar vanilla beans and include shea butter. The jar is recyclable.  
MSC Lavendar and Bergamot Body Nectar - $30. This luxurious body oil is designed for daily moisturization on the face, hair, body and nails. Has lavender, so I'm not able to try it. But I do like the way it's packaged.
MSC Lavender and Spearmint Lip Cream - $7. Nourishing lip cream. 100% natural. If this didn't have lavender I would try this too.
 
 
Mariposa Triple Pearls Tea Light - $25. This is a silver plated tea light, in a very nice box. It looks like there were a couple variations available. Mariposa items are all handmade and no two pieces are ever exactly alike. I like that notion.
Chambre De Sucre Sugar Balls - $26 - This is two tubes of sugar balls that can be added to your coffee or tea. The colored ones all taste the same and are made of pure cane sugar. The white ones are made of dark brown sugar. These have been handcrafted in Japan for over 270 years.
Lisa Steward Bar None Stud Earrings - $85. These are 14K gold plated studs with genuine CA stones. I really like these earrings and they are prettier in person. I need more gold pieces and I need earrings especially. I like that these are not too large, so they will work well with an everyday outfit. They came packaged in a nice pink bag, so again, ready for gifting.  
Red Carpet Kolour Body Glow - $49.95. This is a glow lotion and should make your skin look amazing. This was the spoiler item, so I knew to expect this. This is body makeup and helps blur the appearance of spots, veins, & stretch marks. This is paraben free and fragrance free. RCK is quick drying and long wearing. I'll probably try it out on my next resort trip. My can unfortunately had a dent in in, but the box did not. So, not sure what happened here.

Overall impression is that I liked this box. I won't be able to use all of the products, but I still like to see these types of items included. This did feel like a luxury box with the types of products and the quality of them. Everything was full size also. The overall value is $255.95, so the box met expectations. I'm excited to see what they come up with next time!
`A
 

 

Thursday, May 7, 2015

Glossybox Limited Edition Mothers Day Box 2015 Review

Glossybox Limited Edition Mothers Day box was $40. I didn't really remember ordering this, I thought I was just thinking about it, but I guess I ordered anyway. Sometimes I do that and I'm sure it's because I love limited edition boxes.
I love the special box, it's not just pink like it normally is. The quality of the box is the same high quality as the normal monthly boxes.  
 

Orogold Cosmetics 24K Bionic Complex Thermal Mask - $298. Holy cow this is expensive!! It has an instant heating sensation once applied. This blend of tocopheryl acetate (vitamin E), gold, and algae extract help diminish unwanted dirt and oils from the skin. Apply weekly to cleansed skin, gently massage onto face and neck in a circular motion. Leave mask on for 15 min and then rinse off with cool water.
Fusion Beauty Lipfusion Infatuation in Pucker Lip -  $29. I like this color for summer. This is not just a simple lip gloss, it's also a lip plumper. Also, if you layer it you can provide more color.
Bodyography Cream Shadow in Glimmer - $20. This glimmering, intensely pigmented cream-to-powder shadow offers a wash of metallic shine to the lids. Use darker shades to contour and lighter shades to highlight.
Laura Geller Inkredible Gel Eyeliner Pencil in Brown Eyed Girl - $20 - Gel Eyeliner pencil features a super-soft precision tip, which allows for an even application without any pulling. Both waterproof and highly pigmented, the formula stays put from day to night and wont' run or smudge. GlossyBox included this tidbit on the info card: Eyeliners were introduced in 10,000 B.C. and were originally used to protect skin from he harsh rays of the sun.
Vichy Proeven Daily Dark Spot Corrector - $45. Global dark spot treatment to visibly correct the look of dark spots and discoloration. Instantly brightens skin for more even, radiant complexion. This is meant to be used daily.
Vince Camuto Bella Rollerball - $22. Celebrate spring with Bella, Vince Camuto's newest scent. A blend of effervescent nectarine blossoms, jasmine water and Italian bergamot atop a base of white amber, sparkling floral fruity fragrance.
This box has an overall value of $414, which is well over the $40 we paid for this. Everything was full sized and fun to go through.
`A
 

Friday, May 1, 2015

Allure Beauty Thrills - Spring 2015 Review

I saw the UPS driver and ran all the way down my driveway to greet him. I wasn't sure what I had coming today, but so thrilled to see my Allure Beauty Thrills box. This used to be called Allure Beauty Box. It's $44.95 +$10 Shipping. It's released three times a year, May, August, and December. It's a very high demand box and there are limited quantities, which means it sells out in around 15 minutes. You have to know exactly when it's being released and be ready at your computer, and check out quickly, or you are unlikely to get one. As an Allure Beauty Enthusiast, I received an offer again this year to purchase all three boxes early and not have to wait until the release time. This box is completely packed and so much fun that of course I had to do it again this year.

Hair

Aloxxi Lightweight Sculpting Wax - $20 Lightweight foam transforms into a waxy balm for soft, pliable control and gives hair texture and separation. Leaves hair shiny and protects color from fading by helping block damaging UV rays. I am not currently in need of any haircare products, and not quite sure what sculpting wax is so I don't know who to gift it to.
John Frieda Frizz Ease® Nourishing Oil Elixir - $7.99. Frizz Ease® Nourishing Oil Elixir enhances your style with an instant boost of softness and shine. I have tried this stuff before. It works well.

Clear Scalp & Hair Active Damage Resist Shampoo & Conditioner - $4.99 & $4.99. Deeply nourishes the scalp, hair’s source of natural strength and beauty. Reverses 100% of visible damage, shine, smoothness and strength. We don't always get a matching shampoo and conditioner, so this is really nice. Unfortunately it's not sulfate free so I can't even use it.
Not Your Mothers Clean Freak® Cleansing Conditioner  - $6.99. This new antioxidant-enriched, low-lather co-wash gently cleanses while deeply moisturizing. Cleansing Conditioners seem to be the new "it" product lately. I've gotten several from sub boxes. I believe it means all in one shampoo/conditioner.
Suave Luxe Style Infusion Volumizing Weightless Blow Dry Spray  - $5.99. This weightless blow dry spray is heat-activated to give volume and body that lasts for up to 24 hours. I do not normally use this brand, but I will be trying this for sure. I am always looking to protect my hair from heat, as I blow dry daily.

  Skin

Cetaphil Intensive Moisturizing Cream - $7.99 Formulated with antioxidant ingredients and shea butter to lock in moisture, this non-greasy cream restores and soothes dry, cracked skin. Always happy to see Cetaphil. I was just hoping for this as my hands get really dry lately.  
Dove Go Fresh Revitalize Body Wash - $5.49. New Dove go fresh Revitalize Body Wash with the vibrant scent of mandarin and tiare flower brings your shower to life. The scent does not smell too flowery, so I think I can use this. I like Dove body wash, and usually like the flavors.
 
Jergens Natural Glow® Instant SunTM Sunless Tanning Mousse—Deep Bronze  - $10.99 JERGENS® Natural Glow® Instant SunTM Sunless Tanning Mousse uniquely works with your skin tone to mimic results from the natural sun. Oh, I can't wait to try this stuff. I know this brand is consistent and popular, but I generally stay away from it due to the scent. I am really hoping the mousse is not as fragrant. I love that it's a mousse and I have a mousse application glove already.
Suave Visible GlowTM Self-Tanning Body Lotion - $6.99. This self-tanning body lotion gradually builds a beautiful, natural-looking, streak-free tan while providing 24 hours of moisture. I have never tried suave for a self tanner, so I'm not sure how this will work, but I do hope it's less fragrance than the jergens lotion.
MD Complete Even Tone & Texture Accelerator - $34.99. Wow, much more than I expected and definitley the most expensive toner I've ever received. The Even Tone & Texture Accelerator is a potent antioxidant and nutrient-rich moisturizing treatment that polishes skin’s tone and texture – while nourishing and hydrating skin – for a smoother, brighter, and more even complexion. I'm really looking forward to trying this. I'm always on the lookout for trying new toners, because I do not have a favorite must have brand. This sounds fabulous with the antioxidant and nutrients.
Suave Sea Mineral Infusion Exfoliating Body Wash - $4.59. This spa-inspired body wash is infused with Dead Sea Salts to help polish away impurities and leave skin perfectly smooth. This was taped shut so I do not know how the fragrance is. I plan to research that before opening though, so I can gift if needed. 

Face

Biore Charcoal Pore Minimizer - $8.47. Infused with natural charcoal, this innovative formula polishes away dirt and oil to instantly reduce the appearance of pores after just one use. I'm super excited about this one. Love the brand and love charcoal washes. I especially like that this comes in an easy to use pump.
 
derma e Anti-Wrinkle Vitamin A Glycolic Cleanser - $13.75 Deeply cleanse pores for a fresh, healthy complexion with this naturally exfoliating, sulfate-free cleanser. I have never tried derma e products before, although they aren't new to me. I am happy to get a cleanser and will be keeping this item.
derma e Retinyl Palmitate Crème - $14.95. Enhance surface cellular renewal to diminish the appearance of age lines and wrinkles with this rich refining crème. I am unlikely to keep this only because I have so many face creams already. Seriously, with sub boxes you tend to get quite a stock.
 
Dickinson's Original Witch Hazel Daily Refreshingly Clean Cleansing Cloths -  $6.99 Soap- and fragrance-free to gently remove dirt, oil, and makeup without overdrying or leaving sticky residue. This is also one of my favorite items included. I love face cleansing cloths, and I have never tried this brand before.
Pond's Rejuveness Anti-Wrinkle Cream - $8.39 The best-kept skincare secret is now available nationwide! A daily moisturizer that visibly reduces the appearance of fine lines in 2 weeks. I'm not keeping, as I indicated earlier I already have quite a stock of face creams.

Makeup

Physicians Formula Eye BoosterTM Instant Lash Extension Kit  - $14.99. Eye BoosterTM Instant Lash Extension Kit features life-changing DIY lash extensions. It includes a high-tech, innovative lash boosting Mascara+Extensions that, combined, create shocking lash results in just 2 minutes! LOVE that this was included! This is my top favorite item and I will be trying tomorrow!
Revlon PhotoReady Eye ArtTM Lid + Line + Lash  - $8.99. Coordinating shadow duos with satin and sparkle finishes create unique, customized eye looks. I didn't understand this so I had to google it and found some really cool pics of how girls are using it. You can use this for lid, liner, or lashes. Interesting. The color included is Desert Dazzle and it's very pretty.
Revlon Ultra HDTM Lipstick  - $7.99. Revolutionary wax-free gel technology for true color clarity in one smooth swipe. This also came with a $1 off coupon. The color included HD Gladidolus, which is kind of a red shade.

 Teeth 

 
Colgate Optic White Express White Toothpaste - $3.99. Colgate’s fastest whitening toothpaste ever! Whiter teeth in 3 days* just by brushing! We received both of these items in the winter 2014 box, so I was surprised to see them again.
Colgate Optic White Toothbrush and Whitening Pen - $8.09. The Colgate® Optic White® Toothbrush + Built In Whitening Pen provides an easy and effective way to get whiter teeth in 2 days.* No waiting, no rinsing! It’s as easy as... Brush. Whiten. Go.TM K got this last time, so I'll be trying this one.

 Other

Bic Soleil Glow Razor - $5.49 BIC® Soleil® GlowTM, featuring a COMFORT SHIELDTM head, evenly distributes pressure, and glides over skin for a flawless shave! I love my men's razor that I use, but it's always nice to have a disposable to throw in a travel bag. Of course, each time I do that I have to ask myself why I don't just go do Laser Hair Removal and give up shaving all together.
Dove Advanced Care Anti-Perspirant/Deodorant with Nutrium Moisture  - $4.89. New Dove Advanced Care goes way beyond protection. 9 out of 10 women agreed that it made their underarms soft and smooth. I'm brand loyal so I'm giving this to K. I hear she just lost a deodorant this week, so it'll be good timing for her.  
Secret Outlast Clear Gel - $3.99.  Make every day #ClearlyBetter with NEW Secret OutlastTM Clear Gel—48-hour odor protection plus goes on clear for no white marks. This is my brand! And I love this stuff because it really does have no white streaks. I can't figure out why this particular product comes half full though.
  
Allure also included this booklet that tells about each of the products. I love that it's included, even though I google everything anyway. Also, everything is full size. I was surprised to see the smaller size of the Cetaphil, but I'm not disappointed to get it at all. The value this box is around $233, and 25 items were included. That's it for the spring box. I was really hoping to get a body serum, but maybe for fall?
`A