Friday, April 29, 2016

PopSugar Must Have Box April 2016 Review

PopSugar Must Have Boxis a monthly lifestyle box, geared toward women, founded by Lisa Sugar. They send full size products and a mix of beauty, home, fitness, and other items. They guarantee a value of over $100. They also curate Special Edition boxes that are released throughout the year; they are very popular and contain luxury items. We recommend this box for anyone new to subscription services. 
Cost: $29.95
How Often: Monthly
Ships To: United States via USPS and FedEx
First Look!
 The info card is a booklet that tells about the products.
Next By Nature  Dark Chocolate Covered Espresso Beans - $3.99. These are soo yummy!!! I think this may be my favorite find in this box, or at least my favorite new experience. I ate one and can tell you these are soo good! And yes, they taste like espresso beans covered in chocolate. LOVE.
Chrissy Teigen  CRAVINGS Recipes for all the food you want to eat - $29.99, but you can get it for $18.06 at Barnes and Noble. K has wanted this book so bad she already bought it way before we got our box. She has been trying all the recipes and having a great time with that! I have not gotten to try yet, but I've seen her pics and the food looks awesome. We are happy to get this.
Royal Apothic Field Poppy Conservatories Hand Crème - $24. This is a rich formula that has scents of fig, tea, jasmine, lily, moss, and leaf.
Noon Design Shop "Lemons" Flour Sack Tea Towel - $18. This is super cute. Does not match my kitchen décor, but still, super cute.
Farmacy Sleep Tight Firming Balm - $48. Reinforcing the skin’s natural moisture content, this balm aids firmness and tone while helping to restore elasticity and reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.
Canvas Home Tinware Salt & Pepper Shakers - $12. These are so cute. I have never gotten salt and pepper shakers in a sub box, so I love the originality.
Bloom That $20 Gift Card - $20. This is nice in time for Mothers Day! They say they deliver anywhere in the continental USA!
The approximate value is $ 144.05, including the $20 gift card. My favorite find this month is the chocolate covered espresso beans.
`A


PopSugar Must Have Mini April Review

PopSugar MINI Must Have Box  is a new subscription from PopSugar. It is a mini version of the full size box. It will include two full size items each month. The items will be different than what is included in the full size box. You will receive 2 full size items worth over $30.

Cost: $18.95
How Often: Monthly
Ships To: United States via USPS and FedEx

This includes an info card the same as the regular version. Only mini size!
Farmacy Lip Bloom - $16.50. This is a lip balm. If you apply this over your lip stain this is supposed to last all day. I normally prefer lip balm that does not require your finger to apply, so I'm not overly thrilled. But I can confirm it smells fabulous.
GreenMarket Purveying Co. White Melon Pantry Candle - $16. This is a 7 oz soy candle with a cotton wick. It comes in a glass jar. This is hand poured in small batches by a US artisan chandler. IT has notes of fresh melon, sweet peach, zesty citrus, and comforting vanilla. I can vouch that this smells AMAZING! It spread through my main room quite quickly and I totally love it! Also, I will never be disappointed receiving a candle.
 
The overall value of this box is $32.50. I'm quite happy with it, mostly because this candle really made my day, and I hope PopSugar continue to send us such great finds.
`A

Thursday, April 28, 2016

A Review of Chrissy Teigen's Cravings Cookbook

In a world full of Kardashians be a Chrissy Teigen. Chrissy Teigen's is my spirit animal, I love love love her. She instagrams her cellulite, speaks out during mass shootings, claps back at haters, and professes her love for food. Her instagram is filled with mouth watering pictures, and I was ecstatic when she announced she was finally coming out with a cookbook. I was also stunned to learn that she also grew up in Washington and went to high school next to me. I pre-ordered her cookbook Cravings on amazon before it was released, and before Popsugar sent it out. I have had a chance to cook some of the recipes and they have been soo tasty and easy to make. I warn you that this is not a healthy eating cookbook, it is for satisfying your cravings and indulging.

The book includes the following chapters:
Breakfast All Day
Soupmaster
Salads
Noodles and Carbs
Thai Mom
Party Time 
Sh*t On Toast
Vegetable Things
Things that Intimidate People that Shouldn't 
Supper




The book is filled with beautiful photographs of her and John, and their fur babies. Each recipe also has a quick narrative of why she included it. I love these personal touches and her hilarious humor.


Mexican Street Corn. Left: Chrissy's Right: Mine.

The first recipe I tried was the Mexican Street Corn. This recipe is so simple. It is basically corn, oil, salt and pepper, cheese, mayonnaise, cilantro, and lime. This corn was so good. It has become a go to side dish for us. 

Pad Grapow Chicken (Basil Chicken). Left: Chrissy's Right: Mine.

I love Thai food. If I had to chose one cuisine to eat for the rest of my life I wouldn't even think twice. This dish was surprisingly so easy to make, and has become my favorite quick meal to make during my crazy work week. This dish consists of chicken, oyster sauce, soy sauce, garlic, thai chillies, vegetable oil, basil leaves, and rice. It was so flavorful and is a healthier option, so I feel less guilty indulging. 


Chrissy's Mac and Cheese with Cheesy Garlic Bread Crumbs. Left: Chrissy's Right: Mine.

Omfg I can't even put into words how amazing this dish was. My favorite food in the entire world is good old mac and cheese, but I never make it at home because the recipes usually take forever to make and are way to much work. I thought my life was destined to only be filled with box mac and cheese for the rest of my life until I found this recipe. It took less than an hour to make, was so simple, and was hands down the best mac and cheese I have ever had. I may never eat Kraft again after this! The leftovers barely made it another day, and I even got requests to make this for the next Super Bowl party. It was so saucy and rich. Next time I want to add crab, lobster, or chicken.

Next Recipes I want to try are:

Pepper's Spicy Clams and Pasta- Once we get a chance to harvest some fresh clams off the beach we are making this!


Dutch Baby Pancake- Umm can we take a minute to just take in this picture. My mouth is watering just looking at this picture. I can't wait to try this on a Sunday morning with some Ms. Butter Worths syrup.


Johns Fried Chicken Wings with Spicy Honey Butter- Only Chrissy can make chicken wings look gorgeous. This sounds amazing! Definitely trying this at our next BBQ. 

Overall, I can't rave about this cookbook enough. Even if you don't love Chrissy as much as I do, this cookbook is a great addition to any kitchen. The recipes are so flipping tasty and easy to make. I have discovered so many new recipes, which has gotten me excited to cook again. I can now whip up great meals during my busy work week. You can pick up Cravings at Amazon for $14.99

-K

Friday, April 22, 2016

FitBark Review

My household has been on a health kick recently, and after Sailor's trainer said he was a little overweight and being fed too much I have paid more attention to his portions and how much exercise he has been getting. After a year of eyeing this product, I finally decided to purchase the FitBark for $69.99 on Amazon to help track how much he is exercising and how he stacks up to other dogs. I knew he wasn't getting enough exercise before it, but this has helped us to get more active together. We have started doing daily walks together and playing more ball! I love that the app allows you to link your own FitBit as well.



Its pretty small and he doesn't seem to even notice it on his collar. 
It charges through USB cord and is water proof and rugged. You use Bluetooth on your phone to sync to the tracker. At one point they did offer a wifi base to purchase separately that links the tracker to your wifi so you can check it when you are away, but it seems they have discontinued it. 

They had a few different colors but I chose blue to match his collar. 

This is the app interface. You set up a profile and put in your dogs age and breed in order for them to determine his goal "bark points" of similar dogs. The top number is what he achieved today and the bottom is his goal. 

The app breaks it down even further so you can see the type of activity and the time of day it happened. I think it's great to be able to see how much, or really how little he moved while I was away at work as well as to see the actual measured time he was active.

This allows you to see day to day comparisons and overall snap shot of the week. 

Overall, I am so happy with this product, even though this purchase solidifies my crazy dog mom status lol! I would recommend this product to anyone who is concerned that their dog isn't getting enough activity or if you want to compare to your own activity as well. This is a really great monitoring tool that you can use to make sure your dog is still healthy and active. The FitBark has really inspired us to go on more walks, and through diet and exercise we have seen weight loss over the week. I have gotten more exercise from this as well!! I can't wait to see how his activity measures when we start agility or herding classes soon!

-K and S






Saturday, April 9, 2016

Allure Beauty Box April 2016 Review

Allure Beauty Box (formerly Sample Society) - is curated by the editors of the Allure Magazine. It promises 5 deluxe sizes “expert approved” beauty items from luxurious brands. It comes with a great info card "mini magazine" that tells you why they picked what they picked, how to use it, and why they like it.
 
Cost: $15/month or $165/Annually
How Often: Monthly
Ships To: United States (excluding Alaska and Hawaii) via UPS Ground

DDF Wrinkle Resist Plus Pore Minimizer - $25. I don't know how much you can see from the pic, but this is a clear gel, with a double helix of peach gel running through it. It almost looks like sponges, which kind of threw me a little. The color really turns into a soft sheen.
Bvlgari Goldea Perfume - $8.78. I'm sure this is a really nice perfume, but it's completely wasted on me. Perfume samples are my least favorite to get in any sub box.
L'Occitane Almond Shower Oil - $9.50. This is basically as it sounds, shower oil. It cleans and moisturizes, all in the shower. It smells yummy. If you are prone to body acne, then skip using it on your back or chest, as this is highly moisturizing. I hear it can even be used for shaving.
Fekkai Glossing Crème - $10. This is a styling crème for hair. It can work as a leave-in conditioner and detangler. It guarantees a smooth, bouncy, glossy finish.
L’Oreal Paris Voluminous Original -$6.  I've received this many times before. This is a trusted brand, and I will use this for sure. This wasn't in the info book, so it must be a bonus. It makes your lashes 5X fuller.
Mally Perfect Prep Lip Pencil - $8.67. These natural, skin-coloured lipliners are perfectly matched with long-lasting wear and a non-drying formula that doesn't crease, fade or feather. I couldn't find this exact product on the Mally website, which is a little disappointing. I did find it on QVC as part of a set. This is not the exact item that was in the info booklet, but since this is a neautral I'm more likely to use it. Also, I love the built in sharpener. Why don't more brands do that??
 
The approximate value for this box is $67.95. This is not the $75 that they guaranteed us this month, but close enough. I will everything this month except the perfume.
`A

Wednesday, April 6, 2016

The RackTrap Review

*This item was sent to Brier Review for review purposes*

What I'm Raving About This Week

The Racktrap is for those ladies who tend to use their bra to store items such as credit cards, cash, ID, etc, and who doesn't at least occasionally do that?! The Racktrap is made of a very soft material. Since it's designed to be stored in your bra, it's important that it be comfortable. I was unable to notice or feel the seams while using it.
The Racktrap comes in many different patterns and colors and I love the black lace one that we received. I'm showing this with next to a quarter, just for scale. This can easily and discreetly fit into just about any bra.
This closes by securing the Velcro together. This is very strong, so it can even hold change with no concern of it falling out. This is really important if you plan to throw in a house key.
The best benefit is that it keeps all your items together combined together in one location. I'm showing with a credit card so you can see it can fit easily, along with your ID, and there's plenty of room for cash. You could even fit a mini lipgloss as well. Perfect for a night out where a purse would just weigh you down.
 
The Special Edition Gold - $7.95. This is the lowest price one, and it's personally my favorite.
The Sweatproof Sports - $9.95. This is perfect for storing a house key while out jogging.
The fashion threepack  - $15.95. This includes black lace, white lace and nude lace all together.
`A

Sunday, March 27, 2016

Eye Majic Instant Eye Shadow

What I'm Raving About This Week!

Eye Majic Eye Shadow - We recently received this in a sub box. I thought it was unique and intriguing. This is eye shadow that takes you about 10 seconds to apply, but looks like a pro put it together.
This set came with 2 pairs, so both K and I tried it. Eye Majic Eye Shadow is designed for the girl who doesn't know how to use eye shadow, or which colors to mix together and in what order. Both K and I know how to use eye shadow, and are already fairly skilled at mixing and blending, but this product takes way less time. 
Basically, you just place the pad over your eyelid, line up as close to the eyelash line as possible, and then swipe away from your face. One side of the pad has the color, the other side is  used for blending, which is needed just a little bit where the colors change. This pic is after I had done my swipes, so I think I could have pressed a little harder to get a darker shade. One side of the pad has the color, the other side is to be used for blending, which worked great.
It was super easy to use, quick, and good for doing makeup in the busy mornings. We really liked Eye Majic Eye Shadowand are already buying more. I plan to have handy in my travel bag, because who has time, or space, for full makeup when your out of town. 
`A