Saturday, October 25, 2014

Stay Trendy 7 item Mystery Bag October 2014

I was interested to see what the Stay Trendy Mystery Bag would contain. Just wanted to try out something other than a beauty box. Brier Review paid $25 for the 7-item box. We picked the female version, but had debated picking the male version. There is also a kids one, and a  jewelry category. I am not including links because everything is generic and I can't seem to find the exact ones for each piece. I'm only including prices when I can find something similar.
 
Memory Foam Insoles $5.95 - I'll use these. You can cut them according to your own shoe size, and they are pretty foamy, so these will come in handy.
Soft & Cosy white socks $3.99 each - This is labeled as the softest socks in the world.....maybe. I think they are pretty soft. Well, I like the white ones! The yellow is like Big Bird.
Cell Phone Case - 5th generation $2.99. I think this is ok cute. I don't have any use for it, but I think it's ok. If I can find someone who has 5th generation phone, I'll gladly gift this.
Romantic Sini Sundress - $15.99 - I really like this and will wear it as a beach cover-up next time I'm in the Caribbean. It says XL, but no way it's an XL. At least not according to standard US sizes.
  
As Seen on TV Toothpaste Dispenser - $12.49. I don't even know what to do with this. I think it might be useful for someone with kids, or carpal tunnel, or for someone who has a hard time with toothpaste. This just does not work for my household. This is not really a plastic gadget type of household.
Car USB Plug-In - $2.26 - We have plenty of these. We haven't had a pink one yet, but we get plenty of them throughout the year. I don't think I've been to a tradeshow in years where we don't receive at least a couple of them. I will pass on if I find someone who thinks it's actually useful.
Crystal Avenue Earrings - $9.95 I don't think that's the price of these, but it's the only price I could find for earrings of this brand. I can't even find words to describe how cheap these are.
Footless Leggings Hot Pink - $14.99. These would go great with an 80's costume.
 
I paid $25 for this box. I found similar items, with displayed brand names, and based on published prices I generously estimated the value at around $72.60. I may use around $25 worth. The box was supposed to guarantee $149.99 MSRP, but I can't say this box meets that. The shipping took a really long time, it did not ship out in the 5-7 days promised. I also understand that some folks are still waiting on their items to ship and are not receiving an appropriate response from customer service.
 
At this time, we are just not able to recommend this company. We can revisit that when they are able to fix their marketing, customer service, and their shipping issues.
~A
 
 

Sample Society October Giveaway

The contest for the Sample Society October box is now open!! This closes November 8th.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

ipsy October 2014 DOUBLE Review

Mom's Ipsy

 
Noyah Lipstick - Deeply in Mauve - LOVE!!! This is my second favorite item, the color is so pretty. The tube part is gold which looks classy.
Nicole by OPI - On a Gilt Trip - FULL SIZE - LOVE!! This is my favorite item this month. I truly love gold nails for the fall. I haven't quite caught up to fall yet, I'm still wearing French (gasp), but that will be changing this weekend.
epice Purifying Exfoliant - This was good timing. I just used up the rest of my aloe Exfoliant that I got a couple months ago. It's a full 1 oz, so it's good size.
Ayres Body Butter Patagonia - I have received this before, and have to admit I have not tried it.
Model Co VolumEyes Mascara - I never grow tired of receiving mascara, so this is always welcome.

  K's Ipsy

The makeup bag this month is super cute, and one of my favorites!
Warm Love Pumpkin Exfoliating mask - Excited to see this, always can use exfoliators, and excited to see pumpkin for fall. Love pumpkin items this time of year.
Indie Lee Brightening Cleanser - Love this!! It's paraben free and phthalates free! I love brightening cleansers for my face.
Tattooed Waterproof eyeliner - LOVE THIS! It's liquid, and I only use liquid eyeliner so this is perfect.
Fig & Roe Roseberry Hand Lotion - This is one of my favorite brands. I love the rose tinted lipgloss I got from them, so I'm really excited to try the hand cream. It smells good, smells like berry.
Starlooks LipGloss in Guilty Pleasure - I love nudes a lot, so I'm really excited to try this one. It's just so cute!
K - I really like my ipsy bag this week, it's awesome. For $10? It's awesome.
A - I really like my ipsy bag this week as well. Our bags could not be so different, but yet we each believe we got the better bag, lol.
 

Sample Society Allure - Giveaway

Sample Society reshipped my lost October box. Which UPS found and delivered to me yesterday. So, imagine my surprise when I arrived home today to find another October Box waiting for me. Sample Society has kindly insisted I keep for my trouble. What better way to put this extra box to use than to host a Giveaway?!
Deadline to enter is November 7th.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, October 24, 2014

GlossyBox October 2014 Review

All of my shipments have been terribly slow this month. So, I was happy to see my GlossyBox today.
 
 
Proganix Anti-Fade Weightless Argan Oil + UV Protection $9.99 FULL SIZE included  - You apply this to wet hair and comb through before styling. The fragrance for me is way too perfume like so I won't be able to tell you how this works.
Vince Camuto Amore Eau De Parfum - This is the absolute cutest bottle of perfume. It's pretty rare to see a sample size in the same bottling as the full size. I can't use it, but I still love it!
Tarte Cosmetics Lipsurgence Power Pigment in Awakening - $24 Full Size included - This is a lip tint. I like Tarte products. This color is not for me, but I wish it were.
Nails Inc. Westmister Bridge Matte Top Coat - $10 I love this. My favorite item. This is great for taking a nail color that is too glossy and making it matte. It can help calm a color. The reviews are great and says it dries quickly.
Sesha Botanical Hydro Mask - $9 each - This is my second favorite item. I love masks. I especially love the ones that come all in one and aren't that much work for me to use. We were getting a lot of these earlier this year, but I haven't seen one in months. This is a new brand for me. Soaked in botanical extracts such as cucumber, aloe, and hyaluronic acid.
If you are interested in GlossyBox please email brierreview@gmail.com and we will send you an invitation. We get glossydots, but I don't know what you would get. It's also worth noting their shipping has been doing better lately.
`A

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Allure Sample Society October 2014

My Allure Sample Society surprisingly showed up today. My package has been lost for weeks. UPS attached a note stating they found it, figured out it belonged to me, and that the address label was compromised. Based on the pics below, I seriously can't understand out how they ever figured anything out from what's left of the label. It's a UPS miracle.
 
 
  
Bobbie Brown Smokey Eye Mascara in Black - I thought this was going to be eye shadow, but it's actually the mascara. I don't know why I thought that since by now I've definitely seen all the spoilers.
Emi-Jay hair ties - I can always use more hair ties, especially in these darker colors, so I'm happy to get this.
Bond No. 9 High Line, Chelsea Flowers - I don't ever have any use for perfume samples, but I gotta say this candy packaging is super cute.
L'Oreal Paris Advanced Haircare Total Repair 5 Restoring Shampoo and Conditioner - This is for dry and damaged hair. I'm reading that the shampoo is supposed to soften your hair like a conditioner, and the conditioner is supposed to work like a deep conditioner.
Estee Lauder Enlighten Dark Spot Correcting Night Serum - I love the little bottle. And Estee Lauder is always a well trusted brand.
 
`A

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Beauty DNA

My October Beauty DNA arrived, and it was just what I was hoping for! A face serum. I noticed I have a lot of serum boosters, but that I don't actually have a serum I'm currently using. Timing was perfect, I don't know how they do that but it's not the first time.
 
The info card explains why this was a match for me. It's a serum, treats anti-aging, helps with sun damage, and is well suited for my fair complexion. I do spend a lot of time at the beach, and wear sunscreen of course, but this is still needed.
Osmosis Pur Medical Skincare Replensih Antioxidant/Repair Serum - $60. This is an antioxidant serum and can be used in any skin care regimen as a preventative measure against free radical damage. It enhances skin cell renewal for a more even complexion. LOVE it!! My info card says $60, and I found it for $56 which is pretty close.

Beauty DNA is $25 a month. Each month they send you a full size product based on your profile answers. The value is definitely there as the products they send cost more. The one month I got something of a lower value they sent me two items. I never expected to get so many products I would actually like, but they truly are doing a good job at matching me well each month.
~A